India Squad For Zimbabwe Series Announced; Shubman Gill Named Captain

India Squad For Zimbabwe Series Announced:  The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s squad for their five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe beginning after the T20 World Cup 2024. Shubman Gill has been named captain of a side in which several players have received maiden India call ups.

The official release shared by the Indian Cricket Board did not share any details about the senior players currently in the Caribbean islands for the T20 World Cup being rested. Notably, the side picked for the Zimbabwe entirely consists of players of who have either been benched in the ongoing ICC event so far or those who were not part of the contingent itself. Gill did initially travel with the Indian side as a travelling reserve but was sent back after the USA-leg of the tournament along with Avesh Khan.

READ HERE | As T20 World Cup Fever Catches On, Here Are 5 Fun Cricket Games You Can Play On Games Live

Unsurprisingly, both have been picked for this tour with the Gujarat Titans (GT) skipper even being named the captain of the side. Ruturaj Gaikwad who had previously led India in Asian Games is also in the side but was Gill preferred as the leader ahead of him.

ALSO READ | Naveen Ul Haq Takes A Jibe At Critics With Instagram Post After Afghanistan’s Win Over Australia In T20 WC 2024

India Squad For Zimbabwe Series: Ꮪhubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Dhruv Jurel (Wicketkeeper), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top