IPL 2024 Champions Shreyas Iyer-Led KKR Celebrate With Trophy After Thrashing SRH In Chennai

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) claimed their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title after they beat Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday (May 26). The team dominated the summit clash right from the word ‘go’, with Mitchell Starc removing Abhishek Sharma in the first over itself to set the tone for a dominant performace.

The left-arm speedster eventually won the Player Of the Match in the IPL 2024 final, finishing with figures of 2/14 as KKR first bowled SRH out for 113 before chasing down the target with 57 balls to spare. Venkatesh Iyer made easy work of their modest target, remaining unbeaten on 52* off 26 deliveries, to help Kolkata ease through to a victory.

READ HERE | IPL 2024 Awards: Who Won Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Most Valuable Player, Emerging Player- Check Full List Of Award Winners

Post the match, it was KKR captain Shreyas Iyer who received the IPL 2024 Winners trophy from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President Roger Binny and Secretary Jay Shah. The video of the team celebrating after receiving the trophy has gone viral on social media.

Take a look at the viral video here:


ALSO READ | Imperfect Shot From Venkatesh Iyer In Near-Perfect IPL 2024 Final For KKR Takes Them Across The Line Vs SRH- WATCH WINNING MOMENT

SRH Manage Lowest Total Ever In IPL Final

SRH only managed to post 113, which happens to be the lowest total posted ever in an IPL final. The target was chased down by KKR in 10.3 overs with 57 balls to spare in arguably the most one-sided IPL final ever. Every bowler used by KKR found himself amongst the wickets with Andre Russell finishing with figures of 3/19 in 2.3 overs. Harshit Rana too picked 2 while Varun Chakarvarthy, Sunil Narine and Harshit Rana had a wicket to their credit to go with Starc’s brilliance at the top.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top