KKR vs SRH IPL 2024 Final Will Not Feature Single Player From India’s T20 World Cup 2024 Squad

The T20 World Cup 2024 in the United States and the Caribbean is just around the corner as we are only six days away from the first World Cup game on June 1. But before that we have the Indian Premier League (IPL) season 2024 final all set to be contested between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). SRH defeated Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the IPL 2024 Qualifier 2 to enter the final, set to happen on May 26 (Sunday). What comes as a surprise is that neither of the IPL 2024 finalists have a single player in the 15-member T20 World Cup 2024 squad of India.

India, led by Rohit Sharma with Hardik Pandya as his deputy, will kick their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign off against Ireland on June 5 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York. As SRH don’t have any player in their squad selected for the Indian World Cup team, it’s worth noting that Rinku Singh, who is in KKR, is designated only as a reserve for the ICC event and is not among the main 15-member squad.

The scenario could have been different had Rajasthan Royals reached the final. Rajasthan have three players – Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Yuzvendra Chahal – who are all part of the T20 World Cup squad.

READ | WATCH: Kavya Maran’s Priceless Reaction As SRH Defeat RR To Enter IPL 2024 Final

SRH To Play KKR In IPL 2024 Final

SRH handed a commanding defeat to RR as they lost the match by 36 runs, bowing out of the IPL 2024. KKR have statistically been the best team in the IPL 2024 and have already defeated SRH twice in the tournament. However, SRH too are a formidable team and looked in good touch in all three departments of the match against Rajasthan.

India T20 World Cup 2024 Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj. 

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top