Virender Sehwag Inducted Into ICC Hall Of Fame Along With Diana Edulji And Aravinda De Silva

Former Indian swashbuckling opener Virender Sehwag has been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. Apart from Sehwag, former Indian women’s team captain Diana Edulji and Sri Lankan legend Aravinda de Silva have also been inducted.

The Hall of Fame, which recognises the achievements of the legends of the game, was launched on January 2, 2009, in partnership with the Federation of International Cricketers Associations (FICA) during the ICC’s centenary year celebrations. The new inductees are presented with a commemorative ICC Cricket Hall of Fame cap.

The other Indians who were previously given this honour include Bishan Singh Bedi, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar and Vinoo Mankad.

Sehwag: First Indian To Hit Triple Century In Tests

An explosive opener, Sehwag was part of the Indian squads that won the 2011 ODI World Cup and the 2007 T20 World Cup. The ‘Nawab of Najafgarh’ played 104 Tests, 251 ODIs and 19 T20Is. He scored 8,586 runs in Tests, with 23 centuries. Sehwag was instrumental in redefining the role of an opener through his fierce approach. The first Indian to hit a triple century in Tests, Sehwag is also among four players to breach the 300-run mark twice in the long format of the game.

“Virender Sehwag was a game-changer with the bat and the former India opener is now a much-deserved member of the ICC Hall of Fame,” ICC said in a post on X.

After the announcement, Sehwag said, “I feel extremely grateful for having spent a great part of my life doing what I loved most, ‘hitting the cricket ball’.”

Diana Edulji: First Indian Woman In ICC Hall Of Fame

Former captain, Edulji is the first Indian woman cricketer in the ICC Hall of Fame. In a career spanning over three decades, Edulji, an orthodox left-arm spinner, played 20 Tests and 34 ODIs. 

In 20 Tests, she scored 404 runs and picked up 63 wickets at an average of 25.77. In the shorter format, Edulji scored 211 runs in 34 ODIs and scalped 46 wickets at an average of 16.84.

However, she has made the most impact as an administrator by toiling hard to increase employment opportunities for women cricketers in India.

“It is perhaps off the field that Edulji has had an even greater impact, having played a major role as a trailblazer for India’s women’s cricketers for many decades,” the ICC wrote in a tribute to Edulji.

“It indeed is a great honour to be the first Indian Women Cricketer to be inducted and join a galaxy of cricketers, male and female from across the world,” Edulji told ICC following her induction into the Hall of Fame.

Aravinda de Silva: Man Behind Sri Lanka’s 1996 WC Win

Also known for his aggressive batting as an opener, Aravinda de Silva is best remembered for almost single-handedly guiding Sri Lanka to their World Cup win in 1996 in the final against Australia. His unbeaten 107 in a run chase saw Sri Lanka lifting the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup trophy for the first time. 

In a career spanning 18 years, de Silva accumulated 6,361 runs in 93 Tests while scoring 9,284 runs in 308 ODIs. He also bowled part time offbreaks, scalping 29 wickets in Tests and 106 wickets in ODIs. The right-handed batter scored 20 Test centuries — the third most hundreds by any Sri Lankan player. In ODIs, he had 11 centuries to his name.

“This achievement is a tribute to the dedication, sacrifice, and love that have shaped my cricketing journey,” de Silva told ICC.

“My family, my parents, my sister, my wife and children are my anchor, and deserve the deepest thanks for their unwavering support and sacrifice, which have propelled me towards success. My friends, steadfast companions throughout my highs and lows, have been my pillars of strength,” he further said.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top